Why Conway’s Game of Life is an Easter Egg in Zarlor Mercenary

I was trying to find out how Conway’s Game of Life became an Easter Egg on Zarlor Mercenary for the Atari Lynx. I couldn’t find any answer in my web searches. So I message the origional progammer of the game on facebook and got a responce.

Chuck Sommerville “Life was one of the first programs I wrote in apple basic when I was a teenager, probably about 1978, so I was always fascinated by it. I liked adding fun Easter eggs into my Lynx games. Chip’s Challenge had a Mandelbrot explorer. My good friend Steven Landrum had written the Life program as an exercise to push the limits of the hardware bit blitter in the Lynx. It was so cool, that I asked him if I could include it. Since he was also on the Zarlor team, he said yes. By the way, I think he also wrote the Mandelbrot explorer too.”

 

Leave a Reply

